Mohammad Siraj Humiliates Kolkata Knight Riders To Guide Royal Challengers Bangalore To Win

Mohammad Siraj Humiliates Kolkata Knight Riders To Guide Royal Challengers Bangalore To Win
A still of Mohammad Siraj celebrating after dismissing Nitish Rana.

Royal Challengers Bangalore have had a great season in IPL 2020 till now. Usually, they are seen in the bottom 4 of the points table but this time they have not slipped down at all. They were off to a great start as they defeated SRH in their first match of the season. After that, they did lose to KXIP disastrously but soon bounced back with an extraordinary win in the super-over against Mumbai Indians. Ever since their win against MI, they have been in excellent form. They had won 6 out of their 9 matches and were glued to the #3 position in the points table. Now, it was time for their clash against Kolkata Knight Riders as the latter were sitting tight in the 4th position with 5 wins.

Mohammad Siraj Humiliates Kolkata Knight Riders To Guide Royal Challengers Bangalore To Win
A still of Eoin Morgan (left) and Virat Kohli (right) during the toss.

Match Summary: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders:

First Innings:

Kolkata Knight Riders had won the toss and their skipper Eoin Morgan opted to bat first. So, Shubman Gill and Rahul Tripathi came to open the innings for KKR. They did not exactly get a great start as in the second over Tripathi (1 in 5) and Rana (0 in 1) both got out. Siraj did absolutely amazing bowling to dismiss both the KKR batsmen in the same over. In the very next over, Saini dismissed Gill (1 in 6). After that, Tom Banton (10 in 8) came in at 4 but even he did not contribute much and got out in Siraj’s 2nd over. KKR was completely collapsing in front of the RCB bowling attack. Then, Dinesh Karthik and Eoin Morgan were on the crease and they were carrying the hopes of all KKR fans now.

At the end of the powerplay, KKR had scored only 17 runs and had lost 4 wickets already. Just 2 overs after the powerplay in the 9th over, Chahal came in and dismissed KKR’s former captain Karthik (4 in 14). After that, Pat Cummins (4 in 17) came to the crease to support Morgan. However, the Australian fast bowler soon got out in the 13th over. Then Kuldeep Yadav came in at 8 but then Washington Sundar dismissed Morgan (30 in 34). Now, Lockie Ferguson (19* in 16) came and smashed a few runs in the final 4 overs. They managed to get the KKR total to 84-8 with Kuldeep Yadav (12 in 19) getting run-out in the last over.

Mohammad Siraj Humiliates Kolkata Knight Riders To Guide Royal Challengers Bangalore To Win
Gurkeerat Singh Mann and Virat Kohli finished the chase in 13.3 overs after Finch and Padikkal’s efforts.

Second Innings:

RCB needed only 85 runs to win the game but they were not in any hurry. So, they started with their standard opening duo of Devdutt Padikkal and Aaron Finch. They were playing defensively and were handling the chase very easy. They managed to get 44 runs in the powerplay and now needed only 41 in 84 balls. However, in the 7th over both Finch and Padikkal got dismissed. Then came Gurkeerat Singh Mann and Virat Kohli to finish off the chase. Kohli was taking it slow and steady but Gurkeerat did not take it slowly and was smashing boundaries. They managed to chase the target in 13.4 overs with Kohli scoring 18* in 17 and Gurkeerat scoring 21* in 26.

Royal Challengers Bangalore had won yet another game and were now at 2nd position in the points table. It had been an amazing game as RCB proved that it’s not just their batting lineup that the teams need to be afraid of. Their bowling lineup is equally well. KKR on the other hand is stuck in the 4th position and needs to get some wins in their upcoming matches if they want to qualify for the playoffs. Mohammad Siraj won the Man of the Match award for his brilliant 4-over spell of 8 runs taking 3 wickets. Everyone was thrilled with the youngster’s performance and he, himself was also really pleased to contribute to his team’s win.  Anyhow, KKR will now be facing DC in their next fixture whereas RCB will be up against CSK.