Sports Al Dente
Indian Premier League 2021 - Orange Cap Standings

Indian Premier League 2021 – Orange Cap Standings

The following article is about the Orange Cap standings in the Indian Premier League in 2021. The Indian Premier League recently had its climax. After almost five months after its first match, the final of IPL 2021 was played on 15th October 2021. People had been waiting for it since the beginning of the season.

Even though many people wanted a new team to be the champions, it was Chennai Super Kings who won the trophy this year. It marked their fourth IPL trophy. Only Mumbai Indians, who have won it five times, are before them. Chennai Super Kings defeated Kolkata Knight Riders. The same two teams played the 2012 final, but last time it was KKR who won. This time it was Chennai who served their revenge cold.

Till the last match, people kept their eyes on IPL, as it was so entertaining. Every match had its flavor, and no team was ready to leave the other. Like every year, this year too saw an amazing fight among players to get individual awards.

The most prestigious individual awards in the IPL are the Most Valuable Player of the Tournament, the Orange Cap, and the Purple Cap. But in this article we are only going to talk about the Orange Cap and where did the highest run scorers stand at the end of the season. So without further delay, let us all take a look at the Orange Cap Standings. You may also get more updates on IPL Official site.

Who Won The Orange Cap In IPL 2021?

The Orange Cap is given to the player who has scored the most number of runs throughout the tournament. This year it was quite different than the previous years. People could hardly predict who will win it.

There was no clear winning until the last match was played. But after the match, there was a winner. It was Ruturaj Gaikwad of Chennai Super Kings who won the Orange Cap of the Indian Premier League 2021. It was just by a whisker that he managed to grab the prestigious award, making him the youngest player to win that award. With exceptional batting in every innings, the rising star of IPL surprised everyone.

Indian Premier League 2021 - Orange Cap Standings
Ruturaj Gaikwad – Orange Cap Winner of IPL 2021

Also Read: IPL 2021: Who Is CSK’s Rising Star Ruturaj Gaikwad?

IPL 2021 – Orange Cap Standings

After the final, the Orange Cap Standings were like this,

  • Ruturaj Gaikwad (Chennai Super Kings) – 635 Runs
  • Faf du Plessis (Chennai Super Kings) – 633 Runs
  • KL Rahul (Punjab Kings) – 626 Runs
  • Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi Capitals) – 587 Runs
  • Glenn Maxwell (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 513 Runs

It can be seen that the first three positions had only a slight difference in runs. Ruturaj Gaikwad won the award with a margin of only two runs. The competition was fierce, and even teammates were ready to fight against each other. The first and second positions belonged to the same team.

Indian Premier League 2021 - Orange Cap Standings
Faf du Plessis – Second On IPL 2021 Orange Cap Standings

Also Read: Who Has The Orange Cap In IPL 2021 So Far?

The Innings Played By The Top 5

It is mentioned before that it was just a handful of runs that made the difference. Every player in the top five of the Orange Cap standing gave their all and we respect each of their efforts. But if we include every factor then we will see that it is not always that the one who scored the highest runs is the best.

For those of you who did not understand, let’s look at the statistics. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis scored those massive number of runs by playing 16 innings. But KL Rahul, who missed the first spot by just nine runs, had played only 13 innings.

Indian Premier League 2021 - Orange Cap Standings
KL Rahul – Third On IPL 2021 Orange Cap Standings

KL Rahul had a better average score of over 62 runs in each match and had a better strike of 138.80 than the top two. But speaking of the best strike rate among the top five, it was Glenn Maxwell who surprised us with a strike rate of 144. 10.

The lowest strike rate of the top five was by Shikhar Dhawan. Shikhar Dhawan also played 16 innings, while Glenn Maxwell played 15 innings. Looking from an overall point of view, KL Rahul was the best batsman of the season. But we cannot argue with the fact that Ruturaj Gaikwad scored more runs and the award specifically mentions “The Highest Run Scorer”. It was a competitive season. Fans hope to see more of these in the future.

Also Read: Who Will Play Against CSK In IPL Finals 2021?


Agnik Halder

Hi. Hailing from Kolkata, I am an avid consumer of anime, gaming, football and professional wrestling. You can mostly find me either writing articles, binging shows or engaged in an engrossing discussion about the said interests.

Add comment